Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LibGuides

Guide for publishing Licentiate and Master's theses: For supervisors

This guide you can publish your thesis in the Osuva Publication Archive

The university must follow good scientific practice. Each training program must ensure that the student is guided by good scientific practice.

Thesis process briefly:

The student will send you his or her thesis. You will give feedback on the work and possible correction suggestions.

When the student has made the corrections, give instructions for plagiarism check of the thesis in Moodle.

Check the plagiarism report. If the report is ok, give permission to submit the thesis in Osuva.  If there are any remarks, proceed according to the University of Vaasa guidelines.

The student submits his or her thesis in Osuva and emails the same file to you and to Education Services.

Send your review to Education Services:

  • Bachelor's thesis: grades@univaasa.fi
  • Master's thesis: see contact persons for Education Services below.

After the teacher has approved the Bachelor’s thesis, it will be archived in Osuva.
After the Dean has approved the Master’s thesis, Education Services will make the thesis visible in Osuva.

Thesis process in more detail:

Before submitting the thesis in Osuva

The student will send you his or her thesis. You will give feedback on the work and possible correction suggestions.

When necessary corrections have been made, give instructions for plagiarism check according to the guidelines of your programme or subject. Also give permission to submit the thesis in Osuva for review and publication. There are more detailed instructions for students on submitting theses in Osuva under a separate tab.

  • Bachelor’s theses will be submitted in a hidden collection in Osuva.
  • Master’s theses are in general publicly available, according to open science policies. In exceptional cases, with permission from the supervisor, a student can limit access to his or her thesis to Tritonia’s network, which means that the abstract is available online, but the entire work can be read only on Tritonia’s computers.
    • The supervisor can recommend limited access in cases where the student is definitely against making his or her work publicly available (according to copyright laws), or in cases where the thesis includes sensitive information on companies (please note though, that the Ministry of Education and Culture does not recommend that sensitive data is included in theses). In other cases, the supervisor may consider recommending a limited access case by case, still supporting open publishing.

Check the plagiarism report. If the report is ok, the thesis process continues. If there are any remarks, proceed according to the University of Vaasa guidelines.

If the student is permitted to publish his or her thesis in the restricted access collection, notify Education Services contact person.

Contact persons in case of academic fraud

Background material

With commissioned theses, the commissioner may demand a thesis or parts of it to remain non-public in order to protect business or professional secrets. In this case, those parts of the work that contain such secrets are not integrated into the master’s thesis, but annexed to the thesis as background material. The background material must conform to the general guidelines on writing master’s thesis and must be left for assessment at the same time and in as many copies as the master’s thesis. The background material is not bound together with the master’s thesis but submitted separately with its own title page and titled BACKGROUND MATERIAL. However, general, non-specific information about the background material should be incorporated in the text of the master’s thesis if possible.

The minimum requirements for the actual master’s thesis are that it specifies the theoretical framework, research methods, material and its analysis, and has a list of references. It must be an independent, readable whole. Background material is evaluated together with the actual master’s thesis but is not made public. After the assessment, the background material is archived and kept in a secure place at the school. The use of background material as the main source must be agreed upon with the thesis supervisor beforehand.

Osuva

Osuva is the publications archive of University of Vaasa. It is intended for long-term storage of publications. By using Osuva, the publication gets a persistent identifier and a control number, which ensures that it remains unmodified.

The student must log in to Osuva with his or her own Haka username, choose the collection and submit necessary data and the pdf file. To support long-term archiving, the file format should be at least PDF, preferably PDF/A.

Bachelor’s theses are submitted in a hidden collection which is unavailable.

Despite the limited access to a Master’s thesis, the student’s name, the title of the work, the abstract and other data the student has filled in will be visible online.

Licentiate theses are always readable online.

Checksum

If you want to check that the file you are reviewing is exactly the same file as submitted in Osuva for archiving, you can compare checksums of the files. Ask Education Services for checksum of the file submitted in Osuva.

After the student has submitted his or her work in Osuva

Supervisor
  • The student submits his or her thesis in the publications archive Osuva.
  • The student submits his or her thesis in Osuva and emails the same file to you.
    • Master's thesis is emailed also to Education Services 
  • The review period starts.
  • You review the thesis. This is the official version of the thesis, sent for review.
  • Send your review to Education Services
    • Bachelor's thesis: grades@uwasa.fi
    • Master's thesis: see contact persons for Education Services

Education Services
  • for Bachelor’s theses
    • the contact person records the grade in the student data system and sends a copy of the review to the student
    • After the Bachelor's thesis has been officially approved by the teacher, Education Services will archive the Bachelor’s thesis in Osuva.
  • for Master’s theses
    • the contact person informs the student about the proposed grade, prepares for the Dean’s approval, records the confirmed grade in the student data system and sends the review to the student.
    • After the Master's thesis has been officially approved by the Dean, Education Services will publish the Master’s thesis in Osuva.

Education Services - contact persons

Bachelor’s theses:

    Business Studies: Salla Järvisalo

    Technology, Production and Information Systems, Administrative Sciences: Oona Andrejeff

   Communication and languages: Salla Järvisalo

Master’s theses:

    Communication and languages: Hanna Korpela

    Information Systems: Oona Andrejeff

    Technology: Oona Andrejeff

    Industrial Management, Industrial Digitalisation, Industrial Systems Analytics, Smart Energy: Oona Andrejeff

    Business Studies: Leena Larimo

    Administrative Sciences: Marja Vettenranta

Licentiate theses:

    Technology, Production and Information Systems, Administrative Sciences, Communication and languages and Business Studies: Juuli Honko

If the wrong file has been submitted in Osuva or there are errors in it

Before the publication of the thesis, Education Services can modify metadata, that is, form data filled in by the student. If the student wants to add a new file to Osuva, Education Services has to reject the earlier version, after which the student submits a new file and the review period starts all over.


Changes that affect the review of the work cannot be made after the publication. Minor corrections such as spelling errors can be made with an errata sheet, which will be added to Osuva in addition to the thesis.

Removing the entire file should be avoided if possible, and it cannot be done by the student himself/herself, but only after having contacted the supervisor. The new file must be sent to Tritonia, gradu@tritonia.fi.

If the student has filled in incorrect data on his or her degree, Education Services or Tritonia can correct this data if necessary.

Errata

Students cannot make changes to their work after it has been returned for evaluation and archiving. However, if the student notices small parts of the work that require little repairs or refinements (the error may be a typing mistake, a naming error, an error in siding, a paragraph change, etc.) that generally do not affect the job's review but are more cosmetic, the student can contact Tritonia or Education Services and ask them to add to the work the so-called errata, i.e. a change list, where the student can announce the corrected items in the work. Therefore, no changes can be made to the reviewed and approved thesis file.

Errata contains:

Author
Title
After the acceptance of the Master's thesis, the following errors have been found:
1. Location, error, correction.
2. page 9, row 11, Name: Viitanen, should be: Virtanen.
...

Saavutettavuusseloste Tillgänglighetsutlåtande