Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LibGuides

Publishing in the university's own series: Layout

Writing instructions for University of Vaasa series Acta Wasaensia, University of Vaasa Research Papers and University of Vaasa Reports

Templates for publication

Accessibility

A publication submitted in Osuva must be accessible. The author of the publication can ensure accessibility by

  • following the writing guidelines,
  • using styles in Word or other word processing application,
  • adding alternative texts (i.e. alt texts) to all images and figures,
  • avoiding adding a table as an image,
  • avoiding providing information only through colors, and
  • creating an own style for possible subheadings because mere bold or italics is not sufficient.

Contact the publications secretary if you need help.

Structure

Print

There are separate cover layouts for all series. Covers and title pages are produced by the Publications Secretary. Information on the names of the authors is to be given to her, included in the abstract. The structure of the dissertations follows the ISO 7144:1986 standard.

  • Title page, page I.
  • Overleaf of the title page, page II, information for bibliographic record.
  • Page III contains information about the dissertation, school, and precise time.
  • Page IV information of the author, supervisor, custos, preliminary readers, and opponent.
  • Abstracts, in Finnish page V and in English VI. The third abstract may be in Swedish or German, depending on the language of the publication.
  • Preface, usually page VII, max. length 2 pages.
  • Table of contents, usually from page IX.
  • List of tables
  • List of figures
  • Abbreviations used
  • List of articles
  • Actual research paper or introduction and articles. Page 1 is unnumbered, starting from page 2 the name of the series and the page number in Arabic numerals is indicated.
  • List of references and
  • Appendices
  • Articles, publications or essays

Other publications which will be published in print follow the structure of the dissertation, if applicable.

Online

If the publication will be printed, the PDF version will be added to the Osuva as such. The layout of some article-based dissertations may differ from the printed version, due to the reprint rights. Some articles may be published only after an embargo period.

The PDF file that is published online does not contain blank pages, to improve readability ease. The page margins are symmetrical and the name of the series and the page numbers are only indicated in the top-right corner of the page.

 

A unified visual appearance is an essential part of effective communication. The University’s appearance consists of its logo, the University colours, photos and typography. A unified visual appearance supports the University’s brand and has an impact on how familiar the University is to the public. The University’s visual appearance is planned by the advertising agency Dynamo. The University’s Communications and PR Unit is responsible for the brand control.

Size and colors of the University’s printed publications

Printed book is 25 cm high.

The size of the University’s printed publications is B5. The pages are made on the Word template in A4 and then reduced for printing. The inserted figures, tables, etc. should be large enough to remain legible even in the reduced size. B5 is 84 % of the A4 size.

Fonts and page layout

  Font Font size Notes
 
Body Georgia 11 also Table heading, Figure Caption and reference text
Heading 1 Lucida Sans 14 all caps, begins new page
Heading 2 Lucida Sans 14  
Heading 3 Lucida Sans 11 this is the smallest recommended heading font size
table contents sans-serif font, such as Calibri 10  
mathematical formulas Times New Roman 12 Georgia may also be used, but it lacks some special characters

Body text and margins

The basic font is Georgia and the point size is 11. In template it is called “Body”. Italics are used for highlighting. Apart from italics, boldface can be used in special cases, but not underlining. For legibility reasons, highlighting should be used sparingly. The line space in the body text is set at at least 16 pt, the inside margin at 3.57 cm and the outside margin at 2.86 cm. The top margin is 2.98 cm and the bottom margin 3.57 cm.

The inner and outer margins of a publication that is only published online are symmetrical.

Headings

The template contains specific layout styles for headings. They contain all the formatting and blank rows referred to below. The following instructions for point sizes, etc. apply to writers who, for one reason or another, fail to use the template.

All headings are the font Lucida Sans, a sans-serif font.

Headings begin from the left marginal. Headings are marked with hierarchical numbering, with no dot after last number. Between numbers and text is a tab stop. First tab stop is 1,55 cm from the left margin. Do not use space bar between numbering and heading text.

Hyphenation should be avoided in all headings.

Heading hierarchy

MAIN HEADING (1st level heading) is written in 14-point uppercase letters. Main headings are not hyphenated. The main heading should be followed by a 29-point blank space, if a text paragraph follows. If the main heading is followed by a 2nd level heading, no blank space is needed.

An unnumbered heading (PREFACE, References, Appendices) is placed at the top of the page, aligned with the left margin. The heading PREFACE is written in 14-point uppercase letters. References and Appendices are written in 14-point lowercase letters.

The table of contents is headed Contents, without a number, in 14-point lowercase letters on the top of the page, aligned with the left margin.

A 2nd level heading (1.1 Heading, etc.) is written in 14-point lowercase letters with a 29-point space above and a 12-point space beneath.

A 3rd level heading (1.1.1 Heading) is written in lowercase 11-point (text size) also with a 29-point space above and a 12-point space beneath. If needed, 4th level headings have the same settings.

Tables and figures

 

Tables and figures are numbered consecutively in Arabic numerals, each in their own series (e.g. Table 1., Figure 1., etc.). Between number and heading or caption is a tab stop.

The tables, figures and captions should be self-explanatory without a need to read the body text. Headings and explanations are placed on top of the tables and captions underneath the figures.

Figures must have alternative texts. In addition to a complex chart, a table can be used to represent figures.

If you have to continue the table on the next page, write (jatkuu), (continues), or (fortsätter). On the next page, write the table number on the left and the same text, for example Table 5 (continues). However, it is advisable to keep tables on one page, if possible. Repeat table header on subsequent pages.

As regards the text content, try to fit in a maximum of text on each page. References to figures and tables in the text are to be made with numbers, for instance (table 2) or (figure 3), which means that the text will continue uninterrupted by tables or figures. This means that a table, for instance, will be moved to the next page if there is not sufficient space on the current page. Try to avoid partially empty pages in the publication.

If you are writing a publication which will be printed, please observe that the size of the printed book will be 84 % of an A4. Tables and figures must still be readable in the printed version.


Prefer sending horizontal tables and figures separately. Make sure the settings of the template are preserved when copying from another Word file.

Word template quick style list

The Quick Style List in the publication template includes the most common fonts needed, such as Body text and Heading 1:

Leipäteksti = Body

 

1. tason otsikko - Heading 1

Cover

Front cover includes the title, names of creators, and name and number of series. In the University of Vaasa Research Papers also has a black and white photo, and in the University of Vaasa Reports has a colour photo on the front cover.

Long title distracts readers. A good title should contain the fewest possible words and the same time be specific and adequately describe the contents of a publication.

The printed publication also has a back cover and a spine. The back cover includes ISBN- and ISSN-identifiers and a barcode. The spine includes the name of the series, names of the creators and year of the publication. If publication is under 5 mm thick (around 70 pages), the spine is empty.

 

Pages II-IV

Page II

Bibliographic information, publication services fill in this page.

Page III

The details of public defence

  • School granting the right to defend the dissertation.
  • Date and time of public defence.

Page IV

Author, Orcid ID.

Supervisor and custos, title, name, University/research institute, Department/unit.

Reviewers, preliminary readers (usually two, sometimes more)

  • The person’s name and academic title
  • University/research institute, Department/unit

Opponent, University/research institute, Department/unit.

Abstracts

Abstract must fit in one page with keywords.

If your publication is other than Finnish or English, seventh page is an abstract in that language.

Abstract section

The abstract should be an independent piece of writing, accurately summarizing the contents of the entire paper. It should be easily understood without the presence of the original work. The entire abstract should fit in onto the abstract form.

An abstract is either informative or indicative, depending on the nature of the paper. An indicative abstract serves best in the case of extensive surveys or overviews. In an indicative abstract, the contents of the publication are summarized at a very general level. An informative abstract is well suited as an account of an experimental study to explain the purpose of the work, methods used, results and conclusions.

Keywords

Keywords are listed in the section provided at the bottom of the abstract form. Keywords are important; they tell what subjects the work is related to. Keywords are essential for the work to be tracked. The number of keywords should be at least three, preferably five.

If a suitable keyword is not found, special glossaries of various disciplines can be used. Apart from terms taken from official vocabularies, free terms of each discipline can be chosen as keywords.

Saavutettavuusseloste Tillgänglighetsutlåtande