LibGuides: Information searching: Open access (OA)

What is Open access (OA)?

Open access means that a scientific publication and thus the results of the research are freely available in digital form for the scientific community and larger public. OA publications can be read, used, copied, printed and linked free of charge.

More info:

Some open access material is included in the universities' Finna search services. You can limit your search to open access materials also in the national Finna.fi search service. Some of the material found in Google Scholar is open access.

Open access articles

Below there are links to various websites with open access articles. Some links take you directly to the search of the database where you can search for articles from multiple journals at the same time. Some of the links go to websites that provide information about open access journals. In these cases, you can search in only one journal at a time.

Bentham Open Bentham Open publishes a number of peer-reviewed, open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, medicine, technology and social sciences. Bentham Open provides researchers a platform to rapidly publish their research in a good-quality peer-reviewed journal. All peer-reviewed accepted submissions meeting high research and ethical standards are published with free access to all.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.
Journal.fi - Finnish Scholarly Journals Online Journal.fi is a new journal management and publishing service provided by the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies. The site features 130 Finnish scholarly journals, with more to come.
PubMed Central Open Access The PMC Open Access Subset includes millions of journal articles and preprints that are made available under license terms that allow reuse.
Scribendi - list of databases for free journal articles
Unpaywall - Search articles Unpaywall harvests Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories and makes it easy to find, track, and use.

Open access books

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
IntechOpen Read, share and download more than 6,400 peer-reviewed Open Access books.
NCBI - National Center for Biotechnology Information - Bookshelf Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
OAPEN - Open Access Publishing in European Networks OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

Open access teaching material

Open Educational Resources Commons