Open access to scholarly publications means that research publications can be accessed and read online free of charge. Open access enables research results to be available to as many people as possible, as quickly as possible. Source: https://avointiede.fi/en/open-science-expert-panels/open-access-scholarly-publications
Article processing charge (APC) and Book processing charge (BPC) are fees which the open access publisher might charge from the author or their institution to cover various publishing costs.
It is recommended to utilize in open access publishing the open access benefits FinELib has negotiated with scientific journal publishers. The benefits allow authors to publish their articles open access without the article processing charge or with a discounted charge. The conditions for receiving the benefits and the processes of the publishers vary. Read more here: FinElib, Open access benefits.
Self-archiving (also called parallel publishing or green open access) refers to the storing of a scientific publication or its manuscript with the publisher's permission in either a subject-specific repository or an institutional repository. Self-archiving improves visibility, availability and effectiveness of the research. Self-archived publications are also linked to the national Research.fi service.
Articles published under a Creative Commons license do not need the publisher's permission for self-archiving. If the article is not published as open access in the publisher's service, the final accepted manuscript is self-archived according to the publisher's policies and taking into account the possible embargo period. Most research funders in Finland require open access publishing of peer reviewed publications in the projects they fund. This way the long-term storing and accessibility of the publication is assured.
You can check the instructions for self-archiving in the Open policy finder service, where you will also find more about the publishers' and journals' self-archiving policies.
| Article version | Submitted manuscript (NOT peer reviewed) | Peer reviewed and accepted manuscript | Final publication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terminology used |
Preprint Submitted manuscript Author-submitted article Author's original manuscript (AOM) |
Postprint Accepted manuscript (AM) Final accepted manuscript (FAM) Author accepted manuscript (AAM) Final draft Accepted article Accepted version |
Version of Record (VoR) Final published version Final published article Publisher's PDF |
| Definition | Submitted manuscript version prior to peer review, sent to publisher |
Peer-reviewed and accepted version without publisher´s logo, editing and layout. Looks like plain Word file without text highlights like underlining, bold text or highlighted text, also without comments. |
Published article Publisher's layout including publisher's logo, layout, page numbers and pictures. |
| Can I self-archive it? | This version is not added to universities’ publication archives. | Publishers usually allow self-archiving but may require an embargo period. |
This is archived if the article is published with Creative Commons licence or there is a permission from the publisher. |
Make sure that sure the publishing channel you choose is the right for your research. Be careful especially if the publishing channel is previously unknown. The reliability of open access journals can be assessed in the same way as traditional scientific publications. At least, the following should be considered:
Be wary of predatory publishers.
You should always use the principle of Think - Check - Submit. For more information see video below.
Evaluating research and publications in universities and research departments is an important part of today's academic world. The evaluation is carried out by university administration, single researchers and external evaluators, among others. The scientific field focusing on measuring scholarly publications, authors and citations is called bibliometrics.
Bibliometric services in Tritonia.
In the guide Evaluating scholarly publications, you can find more information about research evaluation tools, where to find impact factors and h-indexes and lists of researcher profiles and networks.
Publication data collection instructions for publication authors (by Ministry of Education and Culture).
Justus publication data storage service and parallel publishing in the publication archive Theseus.
Review process of publications in the SoleCRIS research information system and parallel publishing in the publication archive Osuva.
Justus publication data storage service and parallel publishing in the publication archive Theseus.
julkaisut@vamk.fi
julkaisut@uwasa.fi
Guide and templates
Instructions and guidance on the Novia intra (requires login)
Novia publication
Support for publishing research data and metadata in trusted national or international data archives
tritoniaresearch(a)uwasa.fi
