LibGuides: Reference management: Mendeley

Mendeley is a free web and desktop reference management application that helps you simplify your reference management workflow. With Mendeley you can

store, organize and search for the references in your library
seamlessly insert references and bibliographies to, for example, Microsoft Word documents
read, highlight and annotate saved documents which helps you keep your notes on different sources in one place
share your references and folders with other users
network academically
make yourself a researcher profile

As always, it is important to store your work, sources and references in more than one place (back up file).

Using Mendeley

Creating an account and the browser extension

Mendeley can be used in browser or you can download the Mendeley Reference Manager app to your desktop. Students and staff of University of Vaasa can download the app also from Software Center. It is good to keep in mind that the browser version is updated and developed more often than the app. The free Mendeley account comes with 2 GB but more storage can be purchased.

First, create an account to Mendeley. If you have an account to any other Elsevier's service, such as Scopus, ScienceDirect or SciVal, you can sign in with the same credentials. Do not choose Sign in via your institution when you sign in to Mendeley but use your own account.

Screenshot of Elsevier's sign in

Mendeley Web Importer

Mendeley Web Importer is an extension for web browsers with which you can import references from databases to your own account, i.e., your Mendeley Library. Web Importer does not, however, work in all databases, thus installing it is not mandatory. The extension works in Chrome, Firefox, Edge and Safari, and you can install it on Mendeley's website. After installation, you will see a red Mendeley icon in your browser toolbar.

Saving references from computer

You can drag and drop a file (e.g. PDF of a journal article) from your computer to your Mendeley Library. You can also choose +Add references -> Import file(s) to save a file or Import folder(s) to save a folder with multiple files. Mendeley finds the reference information automatically and saves them to the Library along with the PDF file. Remember to check and edit the reference if necessary!

Saving references by hand

Choose +Add references -> Add reference manually and fill in the information of, for example, a printed book. You can also search for the reference with the DOI identifier among others.

Saving references from databases and other reference management software

You can save a reference as a file to your computer (or cache memory) and import it to your Mendeley Library:

click Export/Cite/Download citation etc.
choose RIS, XML or Bib Tex as file format (choose always RIS in Finna)
save the file to your computer (cache memory works too)
drag and drop the file to Mendeley Library or choose +Add references -> Import library -> choose the correct file format and the saved file

Saving references from the web with Web Importer

click the Mendeley icon in browser (sign in if needed)
choose the reference you want to save (you can import the PDF file at the same time if it is available)
click Add (you can save the reference directly to a Collection you have created)
remember to check and edit the reference information before saving if necessary (click the pen icon next to the reference)

Web Importer in Mozilla Firefox:

Screenshot of Web Importer in Mozilla Firefox

Mendeley Cite

Add Mendeley Cite to Word, so you can add references to your text and create a bibliography:

Insert -> Add-Ins/Get Add-Ins -> Store -> search for Mendeley Cite -> Add
devices owned by University of Vaasa: Insert -> Add-Ins/My Add-Ins -> Admin managed -> choose Mendeley Cite -> Add

Adding citations in Word

References -> Mendeley Cite (sign in if needed)
choose referencing style and language in Citation Settings
choose the place in the text where you want to add the citation
select the correct source in Mendeley Cite on the right by clicking the box
page numbers are added by clicking the name of the reference above Insert citation (the name comes visible also when you click a citation already in the text)
- you can modify the citation under Display as for, for example, narrative referencing
save changes and click Insert 1 citation

Creating a bibliography in Word

choose the place in the text where you want to add the list of references
click ... in Mendeley Cite -> Insert Bibliography -> Continue
when you add new citations to your text, the bibliography updates automatically
you can edit the reference information in Mendeley Library -> then click the arrows in Mendeley Cite -> the bibliography is updated
if the citation is in a different font as the rest of the text, click on the citation -> go to Font in Word's toolbar and click the small arrow or use Ctrl + D -> choose the font style you want -> click Set as Default -> can set to apply only to that document

How you use Mendeley:

Source: Steven Bradburn