E-books can be found in your university's Finna. The easiest way to find a specific e-book is to type the title of the book in the search box. To access the book, click on the link in the book's information.
You can also search for e-books with search terms describing the topic and then narrow down the search results to e-books. In Finna, you can also find links to e-book platforms. Remember to login to your university's Finna, so that you have access to e-resources.
More information about e-books can be found in this video guide.
The way e-books can be read varies depending on the platform or book. The most common options are:
See section E-book services and their usage on this page for more details.
This link opens in a new windowContent
E-books in management, business development, investing and self-development. Some available as audiobooks.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the service.
Reading
The e-book is read online in a browser.
Creating an account
You can create an Alma Talent account, which allows you to use the highlight and notepad functions. Sign out from the top right corner of the page and create the account. Use your university's email address, so that you can log in to the service also off campus.
Downloading
Downloading for offline use is not possible.
Printing
Parts of the books can be printed for the user's own personal and non-commercial use.
Accessibility
Bisneskirjasto is used in a browser and is accessible. Books can also be read with the help of a screen reader, and all icons in the user interface have text alternatives. The books also have page numbers. Tables or images may not have text alternatives.
More information
Terms of Use - Alma Talent digipalvelut (in Finnish)
Content
E-books in business, law and administration. New books are added to the platform on a regular basis. Some available as audiobooks.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the service.
Reading
The e-book is read online in a browser.
Creating an account
You can create an Alma Talent account, which allows you to use the highlighting and note-making functions. Sign out from the top right corner of the page and create the account. Use your university's email address, so that you can log in to the service also off campus.
Downloading
Downloading for offline use is not possible.
Printing
Parts of the books can be printed for the user's own personal and non-commercial use.
Accessibility
Verkkokirjahylly is used in a browser and is accessible. Books can also be read with the help of a screen reader, and all icons in the user interface have text alternatives. The books also have page numbers. Tables or images may not have text alternatives.
More information
Terms of Use - Alma Talent digipalvelut (in Finnish)
Content
Updated reference works on economics, taxation and law.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the service.
Reading
The e-book is read online in a browser.
Creating an account
You can create an Alma Talent account, which allows you to use the highlight and notepad functions. Sign out from the top right corner of the page and create the account. Use your university's email address, so that you can log in to the service also off campus.
Downloading
Downloading for offline use is not possible.
Printing
Parts of the books can be printed for personal use.
More information
Terms of use (FinELib)
Content
Over 125 000 e-books and audiobooks mostly in Swedish, both fiction and nonfiction.
Number of users
The collection does not include books where the number of simultaneous users is limited.
How to find the books
The books can be found primarily on Tritonia's Biblio website or through the Biblio app. Only a few titles are catalogued in the Tritonia Finna.
Logging in
Log in to Biblio with your Tritonia library card credentials. The username is the card number and password the PIN code.
Reading
Books are read online in a browser, with a reading program or the Biblio app. Books in PDF format cannot be opened in the app. Audiobooks can be streamed online or in the Biblio app.
Downloading
In order to download an e-book to your computer to be read in a reading software, create first an Adobe ID. Then download the Adobe Digital Editions reader. Instructions.
On mobile devices, Biblio books can be read by using the Biblio app. Instructions.
Printing
Printing books is not usually allowed. In the book info in Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether you are permitted to print or copy the book or not.
More information
Content
Tritonia's collection on the Ellibs platform includes ca 300 books, mainly in Finnish. Many of them are used as textbooks.
Number of users
The number of simultaneous users depends on the number of licenses acquired and varies from book to book.
Logging in
Use the Tritonia library card to log in. The username is the card number and password the PIN code.
How to read and download
Books are borrowed and then opened for reading in a browser, reading program or the Ellibs app:
Download the reader to your device before borrowing, see instructions.
How to listen to audiobooks
Audiobooks can be opened in a browser or in the Ellibs mobile app.
Loan period
Ellibs books have a loan period that varies by book (1, 7, 14, or 28 days). At the end of the loan period, the e-book will no longer be available.
Printing
Printing and copying are restricted. The number of pages allowed depends on the book. Printing is not possible when reading in a browser.
Requests
You can reserve books in the EPUB file format: the reserved book will automatically load into the user's bookshelf when it becomes available. The user will receive an e-mail notification of the start of the loan period.
Restrictions
The user can have up to 10 books on loan at a time. There can also be requests to up to 10 books at the same time.
More information
Content
A small collection of e-books published by Emerald has been acquired for the University of Vaasa. The topics include management, business development and marketing. The user interface also shows books that are not accessible. You can limit your search to the ones that are available: Access -> Only content I have access to.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
How to find books
The books can be found in Tritonia Finna by title and through Emerald's user interface.
Logging in
Log in to University of Vaasa Finna, and you will be able to access the service.
Reading
E-books are read online in a browser.
Downloading
Books can be downloaded in PDF or EPUB format one chapter at a time.
More information
Content
An e-book package of over 200 000 titles with updated content: new books will be added to the collection, but they can also be removed during the subscription period. Some books in the Ebook Central platform have also been acquired for permanent use.
Number of users
Most books have unlimited access, but the collection also includes books with a limited number of simultaneous users (e.g. 1-3 users). The number of users allowed can be seen in the book's information on the site.
How to find books
Books can be found in Tritonia Finna by title, as well as through the Ebook Central database.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the database.
Reading
Books can be read directly in a browser or downloaded for a fixed period of time to a computer or mobile device. Parts of the books can also be saved as PDF files. The number of pages available for downloading or saving is book-specific.
Downloading
Books can be downloaded to a computer or mobile device for a fixed period of time for offline reading. You need the Adobe Digital Editions reader or app in your device. An Adobe ID is required if you plan to read e-books on more than one device. You can create the Adobe account when you download the program.
An account to Ebook Central is required to download (see below). Please note that all books are not available for download. Books with a single-user license cannot be downloaded for offline reading. Parts or chapters of a book can usually be saved as PDFs.
See the ProQuest guide for detailed download instructions.
Creating an account
You can create an Ebook Central account from the top right corner of the page, under "Sign in". Do not use your Haka credentials. The account gives you access to a bookshelf and allows you to use, e.g., the note-making and highlighting functions.
Placing holds
If an e-book is not available, you can can place a hold on it. Log in to your Ebook Central account and add your email address under "Wait List email". You will be notified by email when the book is available. You have 1 day to access the book. After that it will be passed to the next person in line. You can find the reserved book in your Ebook Central bookshelf under "Holds".
Restrictions
One user can have up to 10 books downloaded.
More information
Content
E-books in various fields, acquired by title for permanent use.
Number of users
The number of simultaneous users varies: some books have unlimited access, but there are also books in the collection where the number of simultaneous users is limited (e.g. 1 or 3 users). The number of users can be seen in the book's information on the site.
How to find books
The books can be found in Tritonia Finna by title as well as through the EBSCO database.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the database.
Reading a book
Books can be read online in a browser and usually downloaded for a fixed period of time to a computer or mobile device. In most cases, parts of the books can also be saved as PDF files. The number of pages available for downloading or saving is book-specific.
Downloading a book
Most books can be downloaded to a computer or mobile device for a fixed period of time to read without a network connection. In your device, you need the Adobe Digital Editions reader or app which can be downloaded for free online. EBSCO's own app, the EBSCO Mobile App, is also available for mobile devices, more information is available here.
You also need a My EBSCOhost account to be able to download books. You can create the account during the download process or use the link "Sign in" in the upper right corner of the page. Don't use your Haka credentials to create the account.
All titles are not available for offline download. Books with a single-user license cannot be downloaded for offline reading.
More information on downloading on the EBSCO support site.
Creating an account
You can create the MyEBSCOhost account at the top right corner of the page, under "Sign In".
Printing
Printing is usually limited. The number of pages allowed depends on the book.
Placing a request
Books that are not available can be reserved through the My EBSCOhost account. You will receive an email notification when the book is available. More info.
Lisätietoja
Content
E-books in business, employment, law, management, sales, marketing and communication. New books are added to the collection, but they can also be removed during the subscription period. The books are not updated. The content is consistent with the printed book.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the service.
Reading
The e-book is read online in a browser.
Downloading
Downloading for offline use is not possible. You can save individual chapters in PDF format.
Printing
You are allowed to print small quantities for personal use.
More information
Terms of use (in Finnish)
Instructions (in Finnish)
Contents
E-books in the fields of technology and business. Also videos, audiobooks, case studies, online guides etc. New content is constantly added to the collection but can also be removed during the subscription period. Access for VAMK students and staff, no walk-in use at the library.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
How to find books
The books can be found in the Tritonia Finna view for VAMK by title as well as through the O'Reilly interface.
Logging in
Use the VAMK email address to log in.
1) Open the link to the platform through VAMK Finna or LibGuides.
2) Click "Institution not listed?" on the start page.
3) Enter your VAMK email address under "Academic email".
You will receive email instructions on how to create an account after the first login. The username is your VAMK e-mail address and the password of your own choice. Once you have created the credentials, use the link "Already a user? Click here" on the login page in the future.
Reading
You can read books online in a browser or the mobile app (O'Reilly app). To use the app, you must have previously created an account to the O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform (see above).
More information
Contents
Over 700 e-books from SAGE in the fields of social sciences: economics, management, communication, media, and psychology. Available on the Talis Elevate platform. Access for University of Vaasa users only, no walk-in use at the library.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
How to find the books
The books can be found in University of Vaasa Finna by title and through the user interface of the database.
Logging in
Log in to the service with your University of Vaasa username and password.
Reading
Books are available for online reading.
More information
Content
Individually acquired audit-related e-books.
How to find the books
The books can be found by title in the Finna view of your university.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the books.
Reading
Books are read online in a browser.
Content
The service includes up-to-date legislation, preliminary work and case law in Finnish. The books section includes the selection of books in Alma Talent Verkkokirjahylly.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
How to find the books
The books in the database are included in the Alma Talent Verkkokirjahylly. You can find a link to Verkkokirjahylly and links to individual books in your university's Finna.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna to access the content.
Reading
Books are read online in a browser.
Downloading
Books are not available for download.
Creating an account
You can create an account to the service via the login menu in the top right corner. Use your university's email address to create the account.
More information
Content
Small subject collections (Green Technology and Energy; AI and Machine Learning) as well as individual books have been acquired for the University of Vaasa to the Taylor & Francis publisher's website. The site also shows books that are not accessible.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
How to find the books
The books can be found in University of Vaasa Finna by title and through the user interface of the database.
Logging in
Log in to University of Vaasa Finna to get access.
Reading
Books are available for online reading. Large e-book files (over 200 MB) do not open in the browser but are available only for download as PDF files.
Downloading
Most e-books can be downloaded as PDFs in whole or partly. DRM permissions vary by book.
Printing
Printing is limited. Allowed amounts are shown in the book's information.
More information
Content
E-textbooks from Pearson and Sage among others. The library acquires the books individually, for a fixed term. The duration of the subscription period is 6-12 months. The library collection can be browsed on the "Explore" tab.
Number of users
The number of simultaneous users varies by title. The number of users is proportional to the number of students in the course. Click on "Book details" to see information about the licenses available.
How to find books
Books can be found in Tritonia Finna by title as well as through the VitalSource Explore platform.
Logging in
Log in to your university's Finna and open the link to the book or the platform. If you do not want to create a VitalSource account, choose "Continue without an account". The book will open once you have accepted the terms and conditions.
Reading
Books are read online in a browser in VitalSource's Bookshelf app.
Downloading
Books can be downloaded to a mobile device using VitalSource's Bookshelf app. More information.
Creating an account
You can choose to create a personal Bookshelf account. Do not use your Haka credentials.
Loan periods and returning
More information
Content
Individual e-books have been purchased for University of Vaasa to Wiley's platform. The site also shows books that are not accessible.
Number of users
The books can have an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
How to find the books
The books can be found in University of Vaasa Finna by title.
Logging in
Log in to University of Vaasa Finna to get access to the books.
Reading
Books are available for online reading.
Downloading
E-books can be downloaded as PDFs in whole or partly.
Printing
You can print copies of parts of the book for personal use.
More information
By logging in to your university's Finna, you get access to almost all of the e-resources offered by your university. E-books in the Ellibs and Biblio services are an exception to this because in order to borrow these e-books, you need the Tritonia library card number and PIN code to log in to the platform.
