When you download Tritonia's e-books for the first time to your mobile device:
1. First, download an Adobe (DRM-enabled) app (e.g. Adobe Digital Editions) or the e-book platform's own app. More info on the apps is available on the Find and Read page in this guide.
2. Create an Adobe ID if it is required.
3. Activate your credentials the settings in your reading app.
Now you are ready to download a book from the e-book database of your choice!
Note! If you want to download a book from Ebook Central or EBSCO, you need to create an account in the database (see Ebook Central instructions, EBSCO eBooks instructions).
If the e-book you are looking for cannot be found in your university's Finna, you can fill out the acquisition form and the library will check if the book is available for institutions.
The book may also be available in printed form in Tritonia or other libraries in the area. You can borrow printed books from other libraries in Finland or abroad via Tritonia's Interlibrary loans service. E-books are not available for interlibrary loan.
E-books acquired by the library will be visible in the Finna view of the university that has made the purchase. In Finna, they are available for users who are logged in with their HAKA credentials. External customers (others than students and staff of University of Vaasa, VAMK and Novia) can access e-books in the Ellibs and Biblio databases with the Tritonia library card number and PIN code.
E-books are available through various services, so unfortunately there is no general solution to this problem. If a particular e-book does not open, please contact infoservice@uwasa.fi and we will look into it.
Even if an eBook is available for purchase online, it does not automatically mean that the book will be available for library use. If you have a specific book in mind that you would like to be purchased as an e-book, please contact infoservice@uwasa.fi
Almost all e-books, e-journals and databases are available for university students and staff via remote access. Just log in to your university's Finna with your HAKA credentials. There are some exceptions, such as Ellibs and Biblio, which require Tritonia's library card number and PIN code.
More information about distance student services: Information for distance students (FAQ) - Tritonia Academic Library
The e-book licenses depend on the databases and the user rights set by the publisher. For example, the number of students may affect the size of an e-textbook license. The license may also depend on whether the book in question is a textbook or research literature. The library purchases unlimited access licenses for e-textbooks when possible. For research literature, we can also purchase single-user licenses (cf. printed book.)
More information on various e-book services on page Find and read in this guide.
We aim to handle acquisition requests in 1-3 business days. E-books that are available for library use can be added to the library's collection faster than printed books. The e-book is usually visible in Finna in a couple of days after it has been activated in the system.
Note! Sometimes the purchase of e-books involves some sorting out, and this might affect the handling time. E-texbooks are purchased so that they are available when the course is ongoing. It is not worth leaving the purchase request to the last minute!
External customers (other than students and staff of University of Vaasa, VAMK or Novia) can use the e-books in Ellibs and Biblio. In these databases, the Tritonia library card number and PIN code are needed to access.
As a rule, e-books can be read in your university's Finna when you are logged in with your HAKA credentials. However, the databases Ellibs and Biblio are an exception since they require the Tritonia library card number and PIN code.
Adobe ID is not accepted
There may be many reasons.Try logging in to your Adobe account in a browser. It might also help to change your password. Note! In Adobe, the same person can have only one ID. If you forget your username, do not create a new account with the same personal information because your ID might be locked.
Adobe ID can be activated on up to 6 different apps/devices. If the number is full, the ID must be deactivated from one application (app settings -> deactivate).
On iPad, use Safari to download the book, other browsers might have problems uploading book files.
If the Verkkokirjahylly service does not work properly, delete the cookies stored on the almatalent.fi and onlinebookshelf.almatalent.fi websites in your browser and open the service again.
See the Frequently asked questions for teachers in this guide.
