Skip to main content
LibGuides

E-resources in teaching

Why use persistent links?

Links to articles are usually long and can change, which means that the link will no longer work. Therefore, it is recommended to use persistent links, which are shorter and remain unchanged.

Alphabetical list of database guides for creating persistent links

A   ABI Inform (and other Proquest databases) | ACM Digital Library
E   EBSCO databasesEbook CentralEmerald
F   Fokus (Alma Talent)
I    IEEE Xplore
J   JSTOR
S  SAGESFS-Online


​Is your database or service missing? Contact isrv@tritonia.fi and ask for guidance!

Persistent links in Proquest databases (ABI Inform etc.)

Proquest logo

Proquest permalink: scroll down to the article indexing details and copy document URL

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Use according to license terms: When linking to resources, references must be included (source, title, copyright holder). Links must go directly to the database of the vendor (saving the article in PDF format and linking it to the course is not allowed).

Persistent links in ACM Digital Library

Permalink in ACM: Right click on the DOI and select  "Copy Shortcut", "Copy Link Location"  or "Copy Link Address" depending  on your browser.

 

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Use according to license terms: When linking to resources, references must be included (source, title, copyright holder). Links must go directly to the database of the vendor (saving the article in PDF format and linking it to the course is not allowed).

Persistent links in EBSCO databases

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Note! The Harvard Business Review license does not allow users to link to its resources. Students must search the journal in Finna och teacher can link the journal's Finna link to Moodle.

Persistent links to Ebook Central books and chapters

Ebook central logo

1. Link to the entire book

Copy URL or "Share link"


2. Link to a specific page or chapter (open the book in Reader)

Copy "Share Link"

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Persistent links in Emerald


Permalink in Emerald: Copy DOI

 

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Use according to license terms: When linking to resources, references must be included (source, title, copyright holder). Links must go directly to the database of the vendor (saving the article in PDF format and linking it to the course is not allowed).

Persistent link in Fokus Alma Talent

Alma talent logo

Persistent links in IEEE

IEEE logo

Permalink in IEEE: copy doi

 

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Use according to license terms: When linking to resources, references must be included (source, title, copyright holder). Links must go directly to the database of the vendor (saving the article in PDF format and linking it to the course is not allowed).

Persistent links to articles in JSTOR database

Jstor logo

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Persistent links to Sage articles

Sage permalink: Link to the abstract-> copy URL, link to the full tex-> right click mouse and copy URL

Remember to add the university proxy server address to the front of the URL! Otherwise your students will not be able to open the article or e-book from off campus. Guidelines

Use according to license terms: When linking to resources, references must be included (source, title, copyright holder). Links must go directly to the database of the vendor (saving the article in PDF format and linking it to the course is not allowed).

Persistent links in SFS-Online


According to the license agreement, it is not allowed to link directly to complete SFS standards, neither can you add complete standards to your online course. Teaching staff may copy extracts of standards and add them as course material. Consequently, you can copy part of the standard text, save it in Word format and add the Word file to your online course, e.g. Moodle. More information on copyrights

User rights for e-resources

The library acquires e-resources through the FinELib consortium and also directly from the database vendors. The user rights for the resources are defined in the license agreements. Usually resources may be used when teaching, studying and doing research. Commercial use of e-resources is not allowed.