Skip to main content
LibGuides

eBooks

This guide introduces library's eBook services and gives instructions how to read and download books on different devices.

eBook databases accessible with your library card

Licensed eBook databases

Loading ...

Compare different eBook databases

Ellibs
Includes   Includes approx. 200 e-books from different fields, mainly in Finnish.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Ellibs can be found in Tritonia's Finna portal. Ellibs books are also cataloged in Finna.
Logging in   With the Tritonia library card (the user name is the card number and the password is the card's PIN code)
Reading and downloading books   Ellibs-books are borrowed with the library card's user name and PIN code to your own computer and read with a Reader program, Adobe Digital Editions. Some of the Ellibs books can be read online. The books are also suited for some eReaders. More information below.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the Ellibs-book you need to install the Adobe Digital Editions -Reader software to your computer. See instructions PC, instructions Mac. Some of the Ellibs books can be read online without the e-book reader software.
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

iPad
  The Ellibs-books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. Instructions.
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

Android device
  The Ellibs-books can be read on an Android devices with Aldiko app or Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. Instructions.
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
E-reader
  Ellibs-books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions (not Amazon Kindle). List of compatible devices.
Loan period   The loan period for the books varies; it is 1, 7, 14 or 28 days. The book can be returned before the end of the loan period. Also books that can be read online must be returned. The file can no longer be used when the loan period has expired. 
Printing   The printing limit depends on the book. In the book's item info on the Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether or not you are allowed to print or copy the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions -software allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   The books are used by one person at a time. Books on loan cannot be renewed. Some of the Ellibs books can be reserved. The reserved book will automatically be downloaded to the customer's bookshelf when it is available.

 

Elib
Includes   Includes approx. 50 000 e-books and audio books mainly in Swedish, both fiction and scientific literature.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to Elib cand be found in Tritonia's Finna-portal. eTextbooks available in Elib are also cataloged in Finna.
Logging in   With the Tritonia library card (the user name is the card number and the password is the card's PIN code)
Reading and downloading books   Elib-books are borrowed with the library card's user name and PIN code to your own computer and read with a Reader program, Adobe Digital Editions. The books are also suited for some eReaders. You can listen to audiobooks online. Instructions (swe). More information below.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  To download the Elib-book you need to install the Adobe Digital Editions-Reader to your computer. Instructions (swe).
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Elib-books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with Bluefire Reader app. An Adobe-ID is needed. Instructions (in Swedish).
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Elib-books can be read on Android devices with Aldiko app. An Adobe-ID is needed. Instructions (swe).
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Elib-books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions (not Amazon Kindle). List of compatible devices.
Loan period   28 days. The book cannot be returned before the end of the loan period. The file can no longer be used when the loan has expired.
Printing   In general, you are not allowed to print the books. In the item info on the Adobe Digital Editions, you can find information on whether or not you are permitted to print or copy the book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   Restrictions: You can borrow 2 books/week. The books cannot be reserved or renewed. Frequently asked questions (swe).
(previous Ebrary)
Includes   Includes approx. 150 000 e-books from different fields, mainly in English.
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the Ebook Central database and books can be found in the Finna portal of your own organization.
Logging in   Via the Finna portal of your own organization. Remote access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
Vaasan yliopistoÅbo AkademiHankenNovia
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline.

OBSERVE! Some of the books cannot be downloaded/saved offline. More instructions below. Proquest's Ebook Central guide.

Computer
(offline downloading)

  If you want to download the whole book to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Digital Editions program. Single chapters can be downloaded also in PDF-format. Create a free user account in Ebook Central for the download (Sign In > Create new account). Downloading instructions in Ebook Central guide 
iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Ebook Central books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with the BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe ID and a free Ebook Central account (Sign In > Create new account). Downloading instructions in Ebook Central guide
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Ebook Central books can be read on Android devices with BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe ID and a free Ebook Central account (Sign In > Create new account). Downloading instructions in Ebook Central guide 
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Ebook Central books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB-format and Adobe Digital Editions readers. List of compatible devices. Single chapters of books in PDF-format can also be dowloaded to Amazon Kindle.
Loan period   14 days (offline download)
Printing   The printing limit is 40 (20+20) pages per session. You are not allowed to print a whole book.
The Reader software   Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a book shelf, make notes and searches the content of the book.
More   New books are added to the collection continuously, but they can also be removed without notice. One user can have a maximum of 10 books that have been downloaded offline. A maximum of 40 pages can be saved in PDF-format.

 

Includes   Includes single e-books in English from different fields (e.g. textbooks).
Where do I find the eBooks?   The link to the eBooks on EBSCOhost can be found in the Finna portal of your own organization. The books have also been cataloged to Finna.
Logging in   Via the Finna portal of your organization. Remote access: log in to the portal with your user name and password.
Vaasan yliopistoNovia
Reading and downloading books  

The books can be read online in a browser or they can be downloaded and read offline.

OBSERVE! Some of the books cannot be downloaded/saved offline. Video instructions.

Computer
(offline downloading)

 

If you want to download the whole book to your computer (offline-downloading) you need to install an Adobe Digital Editions program. Parts of the book can be downloaded also in PDF-format. Create a free user account in EBSCO for the download (Sign In > Create new account).

iPad, iPhone
(offline downloading)

  Ebsco's books can be read on an iPad or iPhone with the BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe ID and a free EBSCO account (Sign In > Create new account).
Android mobile devices
(offline downloading)

  Ebsco's books can be read on an Android device with the BlueFire Reader app. For downloading you need an Adobe ID and a free EBSCO account (Sign In > Create new account).
Windows mobile devices
(offline downloading)
  Unfortunately Windows-based mobile devices do not support e-books protected by Adobe software. There are at the moment no apps available for Windows Phone to unlock DRM-protected e-books.
Compatible eReaders
  Ebsco's books can be read with almost all devices that support the use of the EPUB format and Adobe Digital Editions readers. List of compatible devices. Book chapters in PDF-format can also be downloaded to Kindle (or Nook-device).
Loan period   1-2 days (offline downloading)
Printing   There is a printing limit, which depends on the book. The maximum amount is 60 pages per book.
The Reader software   The Adobe Digital Editions program allows you to create a bookshelf, make notes and search the content of the book.
More   A user is allowed a maximum of 10 books downloaded offline. If the book you want is on loan or downloaded it can be reserved. When the book is available, the system will send an email to the person who has ordered it. A maximum amount of 60 pages of books available for download in PDF-format can be downloaded.

 

Loading ...